Youth Salute - Brown Photography


Copy link below and paste in new browser for news article

Youth Salute 2017


Osbourn Park High School senior Brightney Varghese, 2017 Prince William County Youth Salute winner, will represent Prince William County Schools at the National Council on Youth Leadership Summit in St. Louis, Missouri, October 21-24, 2017.

Varghese is among 108 Prince William County high school seniors, and ten finalists, honored for academic achievement, formidable leadership skills, and a strong commitment to service at the restored and renovated 30th Prince William County Youth Salute Awards.  She and three runners-up, Emmanuel Murphy, Jacqueline Days and Jarrett Lash, were chosen by the Prince William Youth Salute Council to receive a Youth Salute Council scholarship and plaque.

Ten finalists were selected based on their resumes and two essays they each wrote addressing topics such as leadership, personal accomplishment, role models, and challenges facing youth today.  The following students were honored before their peers, parents, special guests, and school administrators at a ceremony held at Forest Park High School on Thursday, September 21, 2017.

Winner – Brightney Varghese…Osbourn Park High School

1st runner-up – Emmanuel Murphy…Christ Chapel Academy     

2nd runner-up – Jacqueline Days…Colgan High School     

3rd runner-up – Jarrett Lash…Patriot High School     

Breyana Hopkins…Potomac High School     

Akosua Odei…Stonewall Jackson High School     

Tiyam Assadpour …Patriot High School     

Rida Subzwari…Gar-Field High School     

Vera Bordoh-Ansah…Stonewall Jackson High School    

Matthew Cinnamon…Forest Park High School

Youth Salute candidacy is ultimately recognition of character, and while character can mean many things, guest speaker Heather Steele congratulated the students for being tenacious. Steele explained, “Tenacity is being able to grab onto something and never let go. Tenacity is determination and persistence. She gave the students to be tenacious:  by staying excited, by doing it scared, and by never letting go.”

Heather Steel is a Litigation Partner at Compton & Duling Attorneys at Law.  Heather serves her community through a number of foundations including Leadership Prince William, the Prince William Regional Chamber of Commerce, and is an active board member for both SPARK and Smart Beginnings of Greater Prince William.

Mistress of Ceremonies was Doresa Pinkett, President of The Village Resource Foundation 501 (c)(3) Corporation; and serving in her fifth year to the Swans Creek Elementary Principal Advisory Board as a Community Representative for Southbridge.

Congratulations to Prince William County Leaders of Tomorrow and good Luck at Nationals!

Youth Salute Winners - Display Panels

2017 Youth Salute Videos - Christ Chapel

2017 Youth Salute - Battlefield

2017 Youth Salute - Brentsville

2017 Youth Salute - Colgan

2017 Youth Salute - Forest Park

2017 Youth Salute - Freedom

2017 Youth Salute - Gar-field

2017 Youth Salute - Hylton

2017 Youth Salute - Osbourn Park

2017 Youth Salute - Patriot

2017 Youth Salute - Potomac

2017 Youth Salute - Stonewall Jackson

2017 Youth Salute - Woodbridge

2016 PWC Youth Salute

Brown Photography is pleased and honored to support the Prince William County Youth Salute program.  The Youth Salute program nominations are chosen during the student's junior year.  The program then recognizes these outstanding high school students as seniors for both their academic and leadership accomplishments through a photographic display in their schools and local communities.  

The 2016 winners for the 27th Annual “Youth Salute” have been awarded by the Prince William County Council on Youth Leadership.

The TOP winners were:

1st Place – Outstanding Leadership Representative 

For Prince William County Mari Emma Beatty (Osbourn Park)

Runner Up – Outstanding Leadership Representative

For Prince William County Kelly Isbell (Battlefield)

The 2016 Youth Salute Outstanding School Leaders

for Each Prince William County School were: 

Miranda Langford (Brentsville)

Basima Zafar (Garfield)

Victoria Hamilton (Woodbridge)

Norman Jones III (Stonewall)

Jessica Hill (Patriot)

Robert Sadler (Potomac)

Camille Edwards (CD Hylton)

Shannon Simone Lee (Freedom)

Rebekah Zachman (Forest Park)

Congratulations to ALL of the Prince William County Youth Salute students for a job well done!

Powered by SmugMug Log In